New Amsterdams


New album day. Not quite as exciting as new billboard day, but this week an album I've been waiting for patiently finally sees the light of day. Mr. Pryor and a full time band – aka – the New Amsterdams - are back with another stand-out release.

Story like a Scar is small town America personified, or maybe a journey home. In a trend that has grown from the stripped down acoustic sound of the first two records, the instrumentation (Pump organs, banjos, harmonicas, Rhodes, Wurlitzers all make cameos here) on the album has become more advanced and crucial to the sound, without changing the rootsy feel of the lyrics.

Using textures and layers, the songs are incredibly diverse and advanced if you look at earlier work (when the band was more or less just Pryor). I hate using this word, but the songs on this new album are almost organic. The single, Turn out the Lights, is a perfect example. As Pryor gently picks a guitar riff, layer after layer is added to compliment, not overpower his voice and the fragility of the song.

MP3:: Turn out the Lights

Along with gigs at Coachella and Lollapoolza, here are some other New Ams dates (including May 24 at Richards on Richards):
Friday, March 31, 2006 - Noise Pop @ Bottom Of The Hill San Francisco, CA
Wednesday, April 05, 2006 - Minneapols, MN @ Triple Rock
Thursday, April 06, 2006 - Chicago, IL @ Logan Square
Friday, April 07, 2006 - Detroit, MI @ The Shelter
Saturday, April 08, 2006 - Toronto, ON @ El Mocambo
Sunday, April 09, 2006 - Montreal, QC @ Le National
Monday, April 10, 2006 - Boston, MA @ The Middle East
Tuesday, April 11, 2006 - Providence, RI @ Century Lounge
Wednesday, April 12, 2006 - New York, NY @ CBGB's
Thursday, April 13, 2006 - Washington, DC @ The Black Cat
Friday, April 14, 2006 - Philadelphia, PA @ Theatre Of The Living Art
Saturday, April 15, 2006 - Virginia Beach, VA @ The Peppermint Beach Club
Saturday, April 29, 2006 - Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music And Arts Festival
Friday, May 19, 2006 - Lawrence, KS @ The Bottleneck
Saturday, May 20, 2006 - Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Sunday, May 21, 2006 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Tuesday, May 23, 2006 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Wednesday, May 24, 2006 - Vancouver, BC @ Richards
Saturday, May 27, 2006 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Troubador
Sunday, May 28, 2006 - Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction
Tuesday, May 30, 2006 - Phoenix, AZ @ Modified


Post a Comment

Word on the Beat

Previous

Contact


Holler @ us on myspace

Subscribe

 Subscribe to the hill

Tags

Links

Archives


Powered by Blogger
& Blogger Templates