Wednesday, September 19, 2007

Halifax Pop Explosion:: Schedule Released

On Monday I attended the Press Conference for the 15th annual Halifax Pop Explosion, which shouldn't come as a huge shock to you based on the large amount of coverage we've been giving the Explosion here on the fest. Well considering the lineup Waye Mason and the good people at the Explosion have put together, I think it's certainly warranted. But up till now we've been pretty much focused on the music side of the event, but there's plenty more going on:

A central piece of the Halifax Pop Explosion's music industry and community focused programming, The Music Matters Conference is taking place on Friday, October 19 and Saturday, October 20 in the Lord Nelson Hotel. This two-day conference will incorporate discussions, workshops and panels on topics ranging from music publishing to live touring.

Canzine East will take place on Saturday, October 20 at Strange Adventures Comic Bookshop. The event will feature zines, art and independent records sold all day long in the store.

The Super 8 Film Fest will take place over three nights at the CBC Radio Room. Featuring three films, all shot on Super 8 film, the schedule includes: The Here and Now (Friday, October 19 at 7pm), Journey to Echo Park (Saturday, Oct. 20th at 4pm) and Soundtrack Surprise (Saturday, Oct. 20th at 7pm).


Click here to see the schedule that was released on Monday.

While we're at it we might as well have a complete listing of the acts confirmed so far:

East Coast acts
A/V - www.myspace.com/avhotaction
Blue Heeler
Construction Destruction - www.myspace.com/davidtrenaman
David Myles - www.davidmyles.com
Die Brucke - www.myspace.com/diexbrucke
The Divorcees - www.thedivorcees.com
Dog Day - www.dogdaymusic.com
Eric's Trip - www.myspace.com/ericstriphome
The First Aid Kit - www.myspace.com/thefirstaidkit
The Fussy Part - www.thefussypart.com
Gloryhound and the Skyhawks - www.myspace.com/gloryhoundandtheskyhawks
The Got To Get Got - www.myspace.com/gottogetgot
Grand Theft Bus - www.grandtheftbus.com
Great Plains - www.myspace.com/greatplainsband
Husband Knife - www.divorcerecords.ca/bandpages/husband.htm
I See Rowboats - www.iseerowboats.com
In-Flight Safety - www.inflightsafety.ca
Joel Plaskett - www.joelplaskett.com
Jordan Croucher - www.myspace.com/jordancroucher
Laura Peek and the Winning Hearts - www.justfriends.ca/peek
The Memories Attack - www.myspace.com/thememoriesattack
Matt Mays & El Torpedo - www.mattmays.com
The Olympic Symphonium - www.myspace.com/theolympicsymphonium
Play Guitar - www.myspace.com/playguitarplayguitar
Save September - www.myspace.com/saveseptember
Share - www.myspace.com/andrewsisk
Shotgun Jimmie - www.shotgunjimmie.com
The Sleepless Nights – www.myspace.com/thesleeplessnights
The Stance - www.thestance.ca
The Superfantastics - www.thesuperfantastics.com
Their Majesties - www.theirmajesties.com
Tom Fun Family Orchestra - www.tomfun.ca
Torso - www.divorcerecords.ca/bandpages/torso.htm
Two Hours Traffic - www.twohourstraffic.com
Vennt - www.myspace.com/vennt
VKNGS - www.vkngs.com
Windom Earle - www.windomearle.com

National acts
Aids Wolf - www.myspace.com/aidswolf
Apostle of Hustle - www.arts-crafts.ca/apostleofhustle
Attack In Black - www.attackinblack.com/
Baby Eagle - www.myspace.com/dreambabyeagledream
Barmitzvah Brothers - www.thebarmitzvahbrothers.com
The Besnard Lakes - www.thebesnardlakes.com
The Bicycles - www.thebicycles.ca
Buried Inside - www.buriedinside.com/
Casey Baker and the Buffalo Sinners - www.myspace.com/caseybakermusic
David Picco - www.myspace.com/davidpicco
The Dudes - www.thedudes.ca
The Forest City Lovers - www.playthetriangle.com
Foxfire Forest - www.myspace.com/foxfireforest
Germans - www.naturesmouth.com/
Kill The Lights - www.killthelights.ca
Land of Talk - www.landoftalk.com
Lil' Andy - www.lilandy.net
Melissa McClelland - www.melissamcclelland.com
Miracle Fortress - www.myspace.com/miraclefortress
The Most Serene Republic - www.themostserenerepublic.com
Mother Mother - www.mothermothersite.com
Measured in Angles - www.myspace.com/measuredinangles
Northern Chorus - www.anorthernchorus.com
Orillia Opry - www.shipsatnight.com/SANorillia.htm
Ox - www.oxmusic.ws/main.html
Pride Tiger - www.myspace.com/pridetiger
Ruby Coast - www.myspace.com/rubycoast
Saint Alvia Cartel - www.myspace.com/thesaintalviacartel
Shapes and Size - www.shapesandsizes.ca/
The Small Sins - www.smallsinsmusic.com
Tegan Sara - www.teganandsara.com
These Electric Lives - www.theseelectriclives.com/
Two Minute Miracles - www.twominutemiracles.com
United Steelworkers of Montreal - www.uswm.ca
Wil - www.ibreakstrings.com
Young Galaxy - www.arts-crafts.ca/younggalaxy

International
Brother Ali - www.brotherali.com
Damien Alexander - www.dammienalexander.com
The Heights - www.myspace.com/theheightsuk
Moist Towelettes - www.themoisttowelettes.jp
Northern State - www.northernstate.net/
Old Time Relijun - www.krecs.com/oldtimerelijun
Shawn Fogel - www.shawnfogel.com
Sole and the Skyrider Band - www.myspace.com/soleandtheskyriderband
The Zoobombs - www.thezoobombs.com

Impressive no? Keep checking the hill for the finest in Explosion updates.

Posted at 9:08 AM by naedoo :: 0 comments

add to facebook add to del.icio.us Digg this Googlize this post add to Yahoo


Post a Comment