Wednesday, July 23, 2008

News:: Halifax Serves Music For Lunch

Grand Parade
Fairly busy week for your old friend Shane, but I thought I'd take time out to do you folks a frickin' service. Well, if you live or work in downtown Halifax, I'm doing you a service, otherwise you might not care. Starting tomorrow, there will be a series of free concerts taking place at lunchtime on the Grand Parade, and the lineup is fairly impressive:

Wednesday, July 23 – Gypsophilia (gypsy-jazz)
Thursday, July 24 – David Myles (folk)
Fridays, July 25 – Brent Randall (indie/pop/alternative)
Wednesday, July 30 – Thom Swift (roots/country-blues/rag)
Thursday, July 31 – Norma MacDonald (Americana/folk)
Friday, August 1 – Ryan Cook (country)
Wednesday, August 6 – The Sakura Quartet (classical)
Thursday, August 7 – David Bradshaw (folk/bluegrass/fusion)
Friday, August 8 – Steven Bowers (folk rock)
Wednesday, August 13 – Rebekah Higgs (folk-electric)
Thursday, August 14 – Jason Haywood (country/Southern rock)
Friday, August 15 – Ruth Minnikin (Americana/folk)
Wednesday, August 20 – Mike Aubé (folk/blues)
Thursday, August 21 – Ian Sherwood (rock/jazz/folk)
Friday, August 22 – Dan McKinnon (Maritime roots/traditional)
Wednesday, August 27 – The Strangeboys (bluegrass)
Thursday, August 28 – Chelsea Nisbett (urban/R&B;)
Friday, August 29 – Beyond Brazil (Brazilian folk/jazz)
Wednesday, September 3 – Kev Corbett (folk)
Thursday, September 4 – The SideCats (roots/world/jazz/blues)
Friday, September 5 – The Stanfields (folk rock/roots)

There's certainly some folks there that we've already covered plenty on the hill (David Myles, Brent Randall, Rebekah Higgs), but there's also plenty of other talent on offer. I know the weather hasn't really been ideal for outdoor concerts this week, but I'm sure there are more sunny days ahead, so keep these shows in mind.

Posted at 8:45 AM by naedoo :: 1 comments

add to facebook add to del.icio.us Digg this Googlize this post add to Yahoo


At 11:14 PM, Anonymous Anonymous did sayeth:

Thanks for posting - I may have to take a lunch break or two in the coming weeks! JR

 

Post a Comment