Wednesday, September 10, 2008

News:: More 2008 Halifax Pop Explosion Goodness

Jay Reatard, Josh Ritter, The Sun Parlour Players, Sebastien Grainger & The Mountains and Basia Bulat @ HPX!

Have we mentioned that herohill and i (heart) music are involved with some showcases at this year's Halifax Pop Explosion? Did you know that one of these showcases is being headlined by an Inbreds Halifax reunion show? What, there's an ad for it on the right hand side of this page? Well, me fault, but still, we're pretty excited about this whole shebang and so we'll likely just keep on mentioning it. Hope you don't mind.

But of course we'll also be mentioning the other excellent acts that are coming for the Festival (as an aside, are you coming dear reader? The Ack came all the way from Vancouver last year, but he lives here now, so we need some other long-distance visitors). I've been meaning to post the latest editions to the event for the last couple weeks, so here they are: Jay Reatard, Josh Ritter, The Sun Parlour Players, Sebastien Grainger & The Mountains, Basia Bulat, Laura Barrett, Will Currie & The Country French, The Diableros, Ghettosocks, The Hot Springs.

Pretty sure you don't need me to tell you that is an impressive lineup, but man, that is an impressive lineup. I don't know much about Jay Reatard, but after the Ack sent me this video a while ago of him socking some kid in the grill during a Toronto show, I'm sold. Laura Barrett is like a female Zamfir, but instead of the pan flute, she is the master of the Kalimba. Polaris nominated Basia Bulat is the master of floppy hat-ed, big-voiced goodness. Josh Ritter is about as good as indie-folk gets, plus he's from Moscow, Idaho, which is pretty great. The Sunparlour Players are a multi-instrument delight. Ghettosocks is really quite awesome.

So anyway, come to HPX 08, I dare say it's going to be a very good time. Don't delay, get after some tickets today.



Laura Barrett: http://www.myspace.com/laurabarrett
Basia Bulat: http://www.myspace.com/basiamyspace
Brutal Knights: http://www.myspace.com/brutalknights
Will Currie & The Country French: http://www.myspace.com/willcurrieandthecountryfrench
The Diableros: http://www.myspace.com/thediableros
Sebastien Grainger & The Mountains: http://www.myspace.com/sebastiengrainger
Ghettosocks: http://www.myspace.com/ghettosocks
GZA: http://www.myspace.com/gza
Holy Fuck: http://www.myspace.com/holyfuck
Hot Springs: http://www.myspace.com/thehotsprings
Inbreds: http://www.inbreds.com
Islands: http://www.myspace.com/islands
Monotonix: http://www.myspace.com/monotonix
Jay Reatard: http://www.myspace.com/jayreatard
Retribution Gospel Choir: http://www.myspace.com/retributiongospelchoir
Ruby Coast: http://www.myspace.com/rubycoast
Scarce: http://www.myspace.com/scarcetheband
The Sun Parlour Players: http://www.myspace.com/thesunparlour
Ron Sexsmith: http://www.myspace.com/ronsexsmith
Two Hours Traffic: http://www.myspace.com/twohourstraffic
Woodhands: http://www.woodhands.com

Posted at 9:59 AM by naedoo :: 1 comments

add to facebook add to del.icio.us Digg this Googlize this post add to Yahoo


At 10:16 PM, Blogger The R.O.B. did sayeth:

Awesome. Just awesome.

Hope everything goes well...

 

Post a Comment