Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Mailbag:: These Hands exclusive stream, The Rest & Parlovr gets remixed

It's another mailbag style post, but this is more because of the sheer amount of awesomeness that was sent our way over the last couple of days. Three artists we’ve covered a lot on the hill all hit us off with some news within 24 hours, so it makes sense to deliver the news to you good readers.

First off, our good friend Michael – aka These Hands – is premiering his new LP exclusively on herohill. Home is Everywhere is a long time in the making, or at least I think so. I’ve heard snippets and demos for the last few months and my excitement has grown and I'm really into the final product.

In the past, These Hands fused folk with big, tribal drums but this record finds Michael really finding his stride. The record has soul. You can feel its heartbeat, surging forward with confidence. Tracks like Oh, Time manage to be spiritual and dark at the same time, almost like a DIY, bedroom version of The Bruce Peninsula. He can be surprisingly powerful, but the record also offers a completely contrasting mix of beautiful, orchestral sounds on Turning Time (the strings are killer) and the swirling Do You Know. These Hands has delivered new sounds on each release to date, but without question this is the most complete, mature, enjoyable set of songs he’s recorded.

1. We Are All Gold

2. Silver Winds

3. Oh, Time

4. Turning Time

5. You Don't Know How Hard They Try

6. Blind Soldier, Proud Mother

7. Do You Know

8. Tying Jewels To The Neck Will Bring You Reminiscent Underwater Dreams

9. Swimming The Notions

10. Always Finds Its Way To Me


The Rest kind of exploded in the blog world with the release of Everything All At Once - which just got UK distribution on Something in Construction – but they aren’t willing to rest on their laurels just yet.

Instead, they are about to launch a really cool project, an EP – The Cried Wolf Book - that ties in directly to a graphic novel. According to Adam, “The Cried Wolf Book which will include 4 songs and will chronicle the life of the boy who cried wolf as an adult. Our good friend MLXNDRSC, an amazingly surreal and inventive visual artist, is illustrating the story.”

They are offering up the first track, which oddly enough is a cover of Robyn’s With Every Heartbeat. They manage to give the dance-y pants track an organic feel, but it still reaches for the sun, giving an epic feel and drama.

MP3:: The Rest - With Every Heartbeat (Robyn cover)

And last but certainly not least, we have a unique pairing for you. It's no secret that we jumped on Parlovr (review here) and were pleasantly surprised by the sounds we heard from Cecil - aka Gobble Gobble (review here). Obviously, Cecil eliminated the middle man and remixed the hell out of Pen to Paper (which, by the way, is the jammy jam).

Gone are most of the homemade instruments, sloppy chords and all that remains behind are the snotty vocals. Gobble Gobble adds distorted layers, sound effects and thumping electro beats to the song and while I'm not sure it surpasses the original, it's worth hearing, especially when the chopped up layers of the original creep into the mix.


MP3:: Parlovr - Pen to the Paper (GOBBLE_GOBBLE's_Buzzbin_Rubdown)

Labels: , gobble gobble, , parlovr, , the rest, these hands

Posted at 7:32 AM by ack :: 0 comments

add to facebook add to Digg this Googlize this post add to Yahoo

Post a Comment